European Cricket Network is delighted to announce that the KNCB (Royal Netherlands Cricket Board) has become the latest federation to accept an invitation to play in our prestigious new national team event, the European Cricket Championship (ECC) later this year.

Netherlands next in line for new European Cricket Championship

Roland Lefebvre, KNCB High Performance Manager said: “KNCB is thrilled to join the growing family of ECC cricket countries in Europe. ECC promises to give our talented group of cricketers a new platform to express themselves in national team colours. We cannot wait for the tournament.”

The European Cricket Championship is the brainchild of ECN Founder Daniel Weston.

“We increase participation with the European Cricket Series and high performance with the Champions League framework of the European Cricket League. ECC rounds off our platform to grow the game, highlighting the national pride of cricketers in Europe and giving them a stage to represent their countries in the T10 format,” Weston said.

“The European Cricket Championship will showcase the talents and passion of cricketers in Europe while they are representing their countries. Adding the extremely talented Netherlands team to the select list of countries involved in the inaugural ECC is a genuine pleasure.”

15 teams will represent their country at the first edition of the ECC.

  • England Amateurs (National County Cricketers Association representative eleven)
  • Scotland “A”
  • Netherlands “A”
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Norway
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Belgium
  • Hungary
  • Czech Republic
  • Portugal
  • Finland

ECC will take place over four weeks, between September 13 and October 8 in Spain.

Five national teams will feature in each of the three group weeks, with the winners qualifying directly for Finals Week. The two best second place finishers during the group stages will also take their place at Finals Week on October 4-8.

The much-anticipated ECC Draw will be held LIVE in Barcelona on all European Cricket Network channels on March 12.