Belgium’s international cricket history dates from the early 20th century when a regular Telegraph Cup tournament in Brussels was played against their neighbours the Netherlands from 1905. Ties between the countries remain, with Cricket Belgium placing a strong emphasis on youth and women’s development, using specialist coaches to spread the game to the next generation of cricketers.


Ranked 40th in the ICC T20 World Rankings going into the tournament, Belgium sit only behind Norway in 39th spot who are the top ranked side in Group A.

Boasting a host of proven ECS performers in their ranks, all comfortable in this high-octane format, Belgium will quietly fancy their chances of progressing to Finals Week in October.


Captain: Sheraz Sheikh
Wicketkeeper: Ali Raza
Projected Top Order: Aziz Mohammad, Mamoon Latif, Ali RazaOmid Rahimi, Faisal Mehmood
Projected Opening Bowlers: Shagharai Sefat, Adnan Razzaq
Spin Options: Sheraz Sheikh, Murid Ekrami


Saber Zakhil - fearsome hitter, currently lies fourth in the world for sixes hit this year in T20i with 19 in seven matches. Also recently broke the T20 World Record (with Raja Saqlain), posting an undefeated 132 for a 9th wicket stand in the series against Austria. Started with intent at ECC with some massive hitting.


Aziz Mohammad, destructive right handed batsman who has impressed in ECS tournaments in Spain last season and most recently in the Netherlands. Can also deliver useful wickets as a change bowler.  


Shagharai Sefat - produced some impressive spells in recent ECS history and likely to spearhead the Belgian attack. Also capable of wielding the willow to devastating effect.


Mamoon Latif - left-hander, clean striker of the ball with ultra-fast hands who blasted Belgium to an impressive win.


Sheraz Sheikh - captain who leads by example with bat and ball.


Tune into the LIVE action from Spain from Monday to Friday from 0700 GMT * 0900 CEST * 1230 IST *